Final Report for the IEEE CSS Outreach Funds

Compiled by Nyandoro O.T For and on behalf of Control Conference for Africa 2017 Local Organising Committee

The first IFAC co-sponsored Control Conference Africa (CCA 2017) was held on the 7th and 8th of December 2017 at Liliesleaf Farm, Johannesburg, South Africa. The event brought together more than 80 control engineering practitioners to exchange on a number of control topics from education to the automotive industry. Besides regular and poster papers, six renowned keynote speakers gave stimulating and insightful talks. The keynote speakers with a keen interest in the African continent were:

- Tianyou Chai (Northeastern University, China)
- Thokozani Majozi (University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa)
- Bozenna Pasic-Duncan (University of Kansas, US)
- Babatunde Ogunnaike (University of Delaware, US)
- Guanrong Chen (City University of Hong Kong)
- David Limebeer (Oxford University, UK)

The majority of the delegates were from South Africa, which is economically the strongest country in sub-Saharan Africa. Previous attempts of organising an African control conference failed because colleagues in other African countries usually lack the financial means to travel and pay the registration fee.

With the assistance of the IEEE Control Systems Society Outreach fund it was possible to sponsor 15 academic and industrial control practitioners to travel to this event and thus make it truly African. Participants travelled from Nigeria, Botswana, Namibia, Mauritius, Zambia, Algeria, Kenya and Burkina Faso to South Africa highlighting the existing presence of control engineering experts on the continent.

The funding was received in June 2017 was US\$13 500 (thirteen thousand five hundred dollars) which when converted at that time was received as R172 000 (one hundred and seventy two thousand rands) local currency. Of that amount R135 460 was used for travel costs for the recipients and R31 804 was used for accommodation for the recipients. The total from these two amounts was R167 204. The balance of R4 736 was used to assist with transporting the recipients and part of the conference diner costs for the same recipients. We would still want to highlight our greatest appreciation for these funds.

The full list of recipients is as follows:

- 1. Oluwafemi Taiwo- Chemical Engineering Department, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria
- 2. Oluwafolake Esther Ojo Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria
- 3. Samuel John- Namibia University Of Science And Technology, Windhoek, Namibia
- 4. Sayed S Sayed Hassen- University Of Mauritius, Reduit, Mauritius
- 5. Erish Okoth Ogur- Technical University Of Kenya, Nairobi, Kenya
- 6. Pousga Kabore- Cci, ISGE (Institut Supérieur de Génie Electrique) Burkina Faso
- 7. Raheema Aloth Ndeda- University Of Botswana, Gaborone, Botswana
- 8. Sebusang Sebusang University Botswana, Gaborone, Botswana
- 9. Wakunoli Munalula Kansanshi Mining Plc, Solwezi, Zambia.
- 10. Ayodeji O Oluwatope- Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife. Nigeria.

- 11. Adeyemo Samuel, Chemical Engineering Department, Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife, Nigeria
- 12. Michael Kanisuru Adeyeri- Department Of Industrial And Production Engineering, The Federal University Of Technology, Nigeria
- 13. Andrew Zulu Namibia University Of Science and Technology, Dept. Of Mechanical and Marine Engineering, Windhoek, Namibia.

Most notably, two of the three prizes awarded at the conference were won by IEEE sponsored participants. Wakunoli Munalula from Zambia was the winner of the CCA best industrial contribution award and Rehema Ndeda received the prize for the best presentation.



IPC co-chair Professor Bozenna Pasik-Duncan presents the CCA 2017 Best Industrial Contribution Award to Wakunoli Munalula (FQML, Zambia)



IPC co-chair Professor Bozenna Pasik-Duncan presents the CCA 2017 Best Presentation Award to Rehema Ndeda (University of Botswana).

The authors were awarded a Certificate for the Awards at a special session during the conference. and IEEE Control Systems Society duly noted.



Some of the recipients and conference organisers after the award ceremony: Top row Otis Nyandoro (CCA LOC Chair, South Africa), Ayodeji Oluwatope (Nigeria), Ayorinde Bamimore (Nigeria), Michael Kanisuru Adeyeri (Nigeria), Margret Bauer (CCA General Chair, South Africa), Sebusang Sebusang (Botswana), Rehema Ndeda (Botswana); Front row: Wakunoli Munalula (Zambia), Samuel John (Namibia), Femi Taiwo (Nigeria), Andrew Zulu (Namibia), Bozenna Pasik-Duncan (CCA IPC co-chair, USA).

The financial assistance of the IEEE CSS Outreach Fund made the conference a success and promoted control engineering across the African continent, to achieve wider recognition of African control engineering practitioners, facilitate an exchange on control engineering education and to establish networks amongst control engineers.